Main components of WebSphere security

WAS 6.1 Security has three main components

  • Authentication protocol: The authentication protocol is used for Remote Method Invocation (RMI) over the Internet InterORB Protocol (IIOP) requests when security is enabled. WebSphere Application Server is configured to use Common Secure Interoperability Version 2 (CSIV2) by default. Secure Authentication Service has been deprecated and will be removed from future WebSphere releases. The CSIV2 is defined by the Object Management Group (OMG) as a standard authentication protocol for vendors to interoperate securely.

  • Authentication mechanism: The WebSphere Application Server uses Lightweight Third Party Authentication (LTPA) as the default authentication mechanism.LTPA supports forwardable credentials and, for security reasons, a configurable expiration time is set on the credentials. The use of LTPA allows you to enable single sign-on (SSO) for your security domain

  • User account repository: The WAS 6.1 server supports 4 different types of user repository

1 comment:

Ramesh K said...

Thanks for sharing this informative information..
For Storm components all over information you may also refer....